Will I Lose My License After a Drunk Driving Accident?
Driving while intoxicated is a criminal offense in every state. In Florida, a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) means that you are taking chemical substances, consuming alcohol, or consuming other controlled substances. Authorities can either show that you were impaired at the time of the accident or that your blood alcohol content or breath alcohol content was .08 or above.
License Suspension for Florida DUIs
How long your license will be revoked depends on how many times you have been convicted of a DUI. It also depends on whether the accident resulted in any serious bodily injury or death.
Harming Another Person
If your drunk driving kills another person, then you may never get your license back. However, you can ask that your license be reinstated after 5 years if you can show that you have a hardship.
If you are convicted of manslaughter, serious bodily injury, or vehicular homicide, then they will revoke your license for a minimum of 3 years. In some circumstances, you may be able to get your license back if you can show hardship after 1 year.
Other License Revocations
Other license revocations (where the accident did not result in injury) include:
- First Conviction: Revoked for a minimum of 180 days and a maximum of one year.
- Second Conviction Within 5 Years: Revoked for a minimum of 5 years, with the possibility of a hardship reinstatement after 1 year. If the second conviction was not within 5 years of the first conviction, then the revocation period acts as if it were a first conviction (minimum of 180 days, maximum of 1 year).
- Third Conviction Within 10 Years of Second Conviction: Revoked for a minimum of 10 years, with the possibility of a hardship reinstatement after 2 years.
- Fourth Conviction (Regardless of the timing of prior convictions): Mandatory permanent revocation. There is no possibility of a hardship reinstatement at this level. This also applies if you are convicted of Murder with a Motor Vehicle.
Generally, if you do not cause bodily harm to another person in the accident (and only cause property damage), then there is no heightened revocation period. If property damage occurs, follow the above license revocation outline.
Other Florida DUI Penalties
License revocation is not the only penalty that you face if you are involved in an accident while driving drunk. Other penalties include:
- Vehicle impoundment
- Jail time
- Community service
It is always a good idea to get a designated driver or call a cab if you have had too much to drink. The risks aren’t worth it!
If you have been involved in a DUI accident in the Boca Raton, Florida area, get legal help by calling Glotzer & Kobren. Call (561)-361-8677 for a free case evaluation.
Related Link : How Much is a Drunk Driving Accident Worth?